top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoyce Macasero

Reasons Why I Enrolled in a Freelancing Course

Updated: Jul 19, 2021

Reasons Why I Enrolled in a Freelancing Course

2020 was a roller coaster ride for me. As the Pandemic started, I was still in my corporate job. I was worried about when will it end. But we, Filipinos, always have the means to cope with every challenge we encounter in life. Since we are in a digital age now, social media brought us a variety of innovative ideas to live in the means of the Pandemic. Every time I browse my Facebook account, I always came across an advertisement about freelancing from Filipino Virtual Assistance. I got curious and interested, so I checked it out.


At first, I got doubts if I would be able to become a Freelancer. Many questions popped into my mind: Can I quit my corporate job? Am I ready to start freelancing? Are my skills enough? Well, I guess I am not a risk-taker. But as I wake up in the morning to prepare for work, I ask myself if it is still worth it. I struggled a lot. My only motivation was my friends and my salary. I asked for signs and think about resigning and get out of my comfort zone. And come November 2020, I resigned.


My superiors were shocked when I handed them my resignation. But they respected my decision to leave. I want to develop my skills more. Honestly, I felt stuck, no personal growth, want to discover myself. I want to be free from the stress that causes my self-doubts. At first, I enjoyed the life of being unemployed with no backup plans. But adult life hits, I need to pay my bills, my savings weren't growing. I must start with a plan. But it's still Pandemic. Many companies laid-off employees to cut their expenses and it's been very difficult to apply directly at companies due to the restrictions that the Pandemic has caused. I must think outside the box for my next step. And at last, thanks to Facebook Ads, I came across the Filipino Virtual Assistance Facebook page. I checked out their social media and website, and I enrolled in a freelancing course.


Here are some of my realizations in starting my freelancing journey in FVA Consultancy:


  • Inspiring Stories of FVA Graduates

We all have different stories in life. The stories that will shape up your personality and will teach you life lessons. As I read the FVA Inspiring Stories, my heart was very touched and gave me hope that I can be like them and be successful in freelancing. Determination and perseverance is the key.

  • Freelancing Skills and Knowledge Enhancement

From my previous job, I felt my skills were stagnant since my everyday tasks become a routine. Freelancing is new to me. I believe I have skills to start with freelancing but I'm not sure on how I can maximize it and keep on getting better. Developing new skills is a great start. Not everything we learn in school and our previous jobs were the same. Scaling up your skills will help.

I was exhausted from my 9 to 5 job before. Most of my time was consumed by traffic when going to work and back home. I dream for the day that I will start working comfortably in my home. I'm hopeful that freelancing will bring opportunities for me to prosper and grow.


People may think of me as crazy because I left my job without backups. I need to change my perspective in life and take a risk. Know your priorities and focus on what's important. I am grateful for the FVA family and especially to Coach Grace in helping us newbies in our freelancing careers. They will help you in starting your freelancing journey. The guidance and expertise they shared in every lessons. They enhance your skills in every portfolio to be submitted. They won't spoonfeed you, allowing you to start from scratch to be a successful freelancer.


My journey as a freelancer is just starting. I believe that I made the right choice when I enrolled at FVA for this freelancing course. Soon I will be part of the successful freelancers here in the Philippines.


Let's talk soon and work together! Happy Freelancing.







bottom of page